Penn State Students Awarded Trans-Mississippi Scholarships

March 14, 2013 in 2-year, Alumni, Awards

Congratulations to recent Penn State graduates, Logan Murphy, Christopher Konow, and Benjamin Burrill who recently became scholarship recipients of the Trans-Mississippi Golf Association, a nationally recognized organization devoted to assisting young men and women who are pursuing careers in turf management. Established in 1901, it is one of the oldest and most prestigious golf organizations in the United States, composed of more that 140 member clubs located throughout the country. The Trans-Miss Scholarship Fund granted its first scholarship in 1953. Logan Murphy In 2012, The Trans-Miss Scholarship Fund recognized three Penn State students for their accomplishments in turf.

Logan Murphy and Christopher Konow were selected to receive Trans-Miss scholarships in the amount of $4,500. Murphy, of Dodge City, Kansas, received the Tom Crow Scholarship. He maintained a 4.0 GPA in Penn State’s Golf Course Turf Management Program, was the school’s Turf Club president in 2012, interned at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchison, Kansas, and, as a graduate, is now working at the Pinehurst Resort.

Konow, of Plainfield, Connecticut, received the W.D. McBee, Jr. Scholarship. He carried a 4.0 GPA in Turfgrass Management at Penn State, earned a scholarship from the Pennsylvania Turfgrass Council, served as a manager for the top-ranked University of Connecticut women’s basketball team while earning a Political Science degree at UConn, and, as a Penn State graduate, is now working at the Black Hall Club in Old Lyme, Connecticut.

Benjamin Burrill, now at the Merion Golf Club, was also selected to receive a Trans-Miss scholarship in the amount of $3,000.